Introducing Project-Based Learning in your Classroom

 My task for module #1 on INTRODUCING PROJECT- BASED LEARNING

What is PBL and why use it

P2P – Reflections on our current teaching practice

Let’s think about how PBL links to our current teaching approaches. Write a short Learning Diary entry reflecting on your own teaching strategies, classroom setup, students’ needs, etc.

 

My regular classroom is very interactive still I have the students sat in rows as it has traditionally been  for years. I started tying PBL 3 years ago and I’m still not happy with the outcomes:

  • anything that requires working collaboratively generates anxiety and frustration among the students if they don’t get to work with that specific colleague they envisaged working with. If I let tem choose there will always be a few out. Therefore I use TEAMUP and they know in advance that the program will generate their working group
  • I also notice that the groups have a lot of trouble organizing their working method and some don’t even reach that point. They inevitably tend to procrastinate. To avoid this I make a mid-project assessment using GOOGLE FORMS or SURVEYMONKEY so that they stop and think about what they are (not!) doing.
  • Then there’s the piggyback issue, mentioned in the vídeo. As this isn’t a regular teaching method, some students prefer to rely on their colleagues and lay back while someone else does the working. To prevent this I also give different grades to members of the same group. It’s the only possible way.
  • As such, assessment is not always easy especially if you’ve got 30 studnts classes like I do. Sometimes it’s really hard to know who is being productive and who isn’t. Some students even complain that they’d rather have a test since they were the ones to do the whole project.
  • I truly believe that what they get from their project will last longer than a mere lecture on the same subject. Right now I’m still struggling with the right methodologies to make good use of PBL

 

Leave a Reply

